The FDA and DEA have yet to make a decision on the legality of Kratom across the United States. For some states, Kratom still remains a gray area for its citizens, for others, this plant is free to purchase and consume.

The following states have banned Kratom or are in the process of banning Kratom.

  • Alabama – Kratom is a Schedule 1 controlled substance drug as of May 10, 2016.

  • Arkansas – Kratom is a controlled substance as of February 2016.

  • California – Kratom is legal except in San Diego where a local ordinance was passed,

  • Florida – Kratom is legal in Florida with the exception of Sarasota County.

  • Illinois – The sale of kratom is banned to minors under the age of 18, it is banned in Jerseyville, but is legal in the state.

  • Indiana – Kratom is classified as a synthetic drug and is banned

  • New Hampshire – Legal if you are 18 and over.

  • Rhode Island – Kratom is banned in this state

  • Tennessee – Kratom has just been made legal in this state.

  • Vermont – Kratom has been banned in vermont

  • Wisconsin – Kratom is classified as a Schedule 1 and is banned.

  • Columbus, Mississippi – Kratom is banned for sale in any store in this town.

  • Washington D.C. – Kratom is banned.